And back to a normal frame of mind

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

So after yesterdays rather impromptu rant, I have actually had a pretty good day.

It started out a bit rough. I looked at myself in the mirror at 05:30 and wasn’t too keen on what I saw. The drawn face with grey heavy bags under the eyes really was not looking forward to the idea of going to work. However, I somehow mustered the strength to fall out the door and down to the bus stop.

The start of work was pretty straight forward until on of the team leaders collared me on the mezzanine floor and asked for my log on name, he then proceeded to circle some numbers on a page that I assumed was yesterdays target numbers. He then said, “well done for yesterday,” and shook my hand… rather bemused, I carried on.

A little later when I went back to the pod for a new list Jon, the supervisor, turned round and asked me what had happened in my first hour since I’m usually one of the best pickers. I stared blankly at him for a moment before muttering something about a bad list and it being pretty warm.

Apparently I’ve not only been regularly hitting my targets but regularly exceeding them as well. Even the manager congratulated my performance.

After feeling the way I have been for the last few days it’s been a real boost to know that I’m not just another employee but I’m actually working for a company that values the effort that you put in.

Another bit of news is that after the sale is over (which I think is the end of this week) the “deadwood” will be gotten rid of and the remaining agency staff will become permanent contracted staff. And with the above being said it looks like I might well be getting offered a permanent position.

Yey!

Leave a Reply

