My sisters and me

Posted: June 22, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have 5 sisters. Yes, I said 5. And I love each one of them whole-heartedly.

I can’t say this has always been the case. We have had some HUGE arguements before now. But certainly over the last few years I have come to appreciate each of my sisters for each of their unique influences on my life.

The eldest has always been the protector. She looks after me and always has the time to listen to my ranting. Whatever her struggles are, she will always put them aside to help anyone in need.

The next is the thinker. I would say thoughtful but she does have a tendency to let go of common sense. When I have a problem that needs an objective view point she is the one who says “have you tried” or “what about”.

The one who is closest to my age group has a tendency to undervalue herself. But when I was diagnosed with Lupus she decided to take it on herself to raise Lupus awareness and to raise money for Lupus UK by doing the UK’s Three Peaks Challenge and this is while living with her own personal limitations. (Click here to sponsor her – Booking Reference 4523/3P10 – Participants Name – Charlotte Wright)

My two youngest sisters are not quite at the age to fully comprehend the impact that Lupus does and will yet have on my life and yet when I’m round they are incredibly helpful and do grasp that I do have my limitations at times.

To be perfectly honest, I think that without them I wouldn’t be coping half as well as I do with this disease. They have the ability to know what to say and when to say it to make everything seem that little bit more tolerable.

I love each of them, whole-heartedly, unreservedly, unashamedly and I am eternally grateful for their love and support.

I’m a soppy bugger aren’t I?

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    You are so blessed to have family that you are close to and can talk to. Not all of us have such a large support system. A soppy bugger? well… call it what you want… it all makes sense to me.

Leave a Reply

